top of page
  • Writer's pictureCoastal Waters Coaching

January Book Review.


Cover Photo of Girl Wash Your Face


Each month, I will showcase a great book to read and give you a review of it and why it applies to my life and my business. Today, our first book will be, "Girl, Wash Your Face." By: Rachel Hollis. I have seen a lot of others read it and not see how it could be useful to them because it's too "white privileged." Um, I'm sorry- WHAT?!? I also heard it was too, "religious." Um- How? I never understood how people could be so narrow-minded when it came to reading between the lines. They'll be the first to tell you the innuendos, but never find the actual message! Well, Let's talk hidden messages and the real takeaways!


If you took the time to read the book already- AWESOME!! If you haven't yet, get it and get to reading! I read the book in 2 days! I was in love with it. I even got a download of a Discussion Guide because I wanted to get the most out of the book- heck, I even annotated like I was back in High School. (I have it available for $5. Just send me an e-mail letting me know you want it.) I went into it not knowing who I was and what I wanted in life. I became lost as I no longer worked Full-Time and no longer had a real present life outside my home. I had begun to feel like I was failing as a Wife, Mom, Daughter, Sister, and overall person. I needed something to spark a light in my life. This book did it!


Rachel Hollis talks about the failures and trials of everyday life. Yes, she uses some bible quotes and yes, it's chalk full of her everyday life facts. But, if she wasn't real with us and didn't share her stories, we would just be reading someone's novel on how to be a normal human. She talks about her childhood and growing up in a tragic & unforgiving home. Her life was never all Pearls and Louboutins. The realism and openness she puts in her book is just awe-inspiring and refreshing. What makes us as humans, believe in people and topics, is personal testimonies.


Rachel goes through each lie we are told as little as children to grown adults and explains how she has come to realize they are just false! Her reasoning as to why they are false and how they effect you in a negative way is just so eye opening! My favorite Chapter has to be about other people's opinions of you, don't matter. I so needed this chapter! Each chapter is almost like it was written for the reader. She is marvelous and so worth reading! Have you read it? What did you think? Haven't read it? Why not?

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page